Are You Part of the Problem or a part of the Solution?


You are either a part of the problem or a part of the solution. You cannot be both. Just like I posted in an earlier article, you can choose to be a blessing or a burden. I choose to be a part of the solution, and to be a blessing and be happy. I love helping others. It is in my genes. My Mother told me that I was always trying to help others when I was a little girl. I was taught to share with others. If I had a piece of candy, I shared it with my best friend. I was more fortunate than her in some ways. Her father died when she was four, and her mother had to raise five children alone. They lived across the street from us in Jacinto City, TX. They were happy even though they had very little materially, they had a lot of love. Her mother spent a lot of time with us children on the block playing cards, cooking us dinner, and had very little but she gave what she had to anyone who needed it. She was a true example of helping others.

In my adulthood and recovery, I had to learn that you could “help” too much, or enable them, and that “doing for someone else what God wanted them to do for themselves is no good, and just serves to keep them dependent and they will never grow up. They are not fulfilling God’s full purpose for their life’s. God wants us to be dependent on Him not people! He wants everything good for us.

I have been told that I was not Christian, because I don’t believe in giving ALL our money to charity, and feeding the rest of the world. I believe that God wants us to “bloom where we are planted”! He wants me to help others when I can, but if I don’t take care of me first, then I will have nothing to give anyone else.

Some people hate rich people, because they are JEALOUS of them. If God did not want them to have it, then they would not have it. It takes money to help others. Yes, some rich are addicted to money and greedy, but God will deal with them in the end. Besides the fact, that being “Greedy” or “Jealous” helps no one. It keeps the person miserable. I love what St. Paul said, “I have learned in whatsoever state I am in therewith to be content.” I have been happy with much, and I have been happy with little. The more that I accept things as they are, not as I would have them, the happier and more serene I am.

Thank God, we are judged by our insides NOT our outsides! God knows what you think, what you do, and He will give us the power to do what we are supposed to do. But we do have a choice, we can choose to serve God or we can choose to serve man. Man will ALWAYS fail you!

Thomas Merton said, “If you yourself are at peace, then there is at least some peace in the world.” If each of us works towards peace within ourselves, we actively become part of the solution to the problems of the world.

Home > Library > Religion & Spirituality > Proverbs
What we’re saying today is that you’re either part of the solution or you’re part of the problem.
[1968 E. Cleaver Speech (in R. Scheer, Eldridge Cleaver (1969) 32)]

‘If you’re not the solution,’ says Peter Madden, ‘you’re part of the problem.’ ‘It would be terribly arrogant of me to believe I was the solution to anything.’

[1975 M. Bradbury History Man v.]
Listen, don’t you realize if you’re not part of the solution you’re part of the problem.

[1977 C. Mcfadden Serial xxvi.]
MTV used to broadcast environmental messages featuring the punchline ‘if you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the problem’. Indeed.

