My Gratitude List~November is Gratitude Month

This is my favorite pic of Thanksgiving by Norman Rockwell. I have used this pic before, but I love it so much, that I am using it again. It symbolizes our family traditions for Thanksgiving.

It is that time of year for me to make another Gratitude list. I make one every year for Thanksgiving, and anytime during the year when I am feeling down or depressed. I try to focus on “what is right” in my life instead of “what is wrong”.  A Gratitude list is a list of what I am Grateful for.

I have had a journal or diary all my life. Reading and writing have always been my way of escaping the realities of life. I highly recommend it to all. Mine have helped me immensely to understand my feelings, and to have peace and serenity, and it also has helped me to work through my problems.

My Gratitude List:

1. Loving and forgiving God and Jesus, whom love me no matter what.

2. Loving and forgiving family, who love me no matter what.

3. Loving and forgiving friends, who love me just as I am.

4. Country founded on God and Christian principles, that allows us to be free from satan and communism.

5. Family Traditions that my Mother and Father and Step Dad have kept alive for us.

6. Responsible and Reliable parents, who always put our needs above their own.

7. Our beautiful home that my parent’s worked hard to provide for us.

8. All of our wonderful memories of celebrating the holidays together.

9. For all the wonderful memories and time spent with my Mother, who left us not willingly, but because God was ready for her to come home. She was 84, and she had a blessed life, and she blessed everyone that she met. She was loved by all. This will be my first Thanksgiving without her, and with my selfish wants and needs would be to have her here with us, but I must be unselfish and be grateful that she is no longer suffering and happy with her family and friends.

10. For all my good memories of what a Christian, loving, responsible, father and step dad, that God blessed me with.

11. For my wonderful husband, that God blessed me with six years, that loves me no matter what.

12. For Bill Wilson and Doctor Robert Smith, who gave us a program to live by, with the twelve steps and twelve traditions, and the Big Book, to teach us how to be sober and to have serenity living life on life’s terms.

I will stop there, even though I probably could go on and on about all the things that I am grateful for. If you notice, I didn’t list material possessions first. I have read another blog that posted about gratitude, but the whole post is about the “material” things that they are grateful for, and the whole post was about herself. In one of our programs we are taught that, “Addicts worship things, instead of people.”

Stained glass at St John the Baptist's Anglica...
Stained glass at St John the Baptist’s Anglican Church http://www.stjohnsashfield.org.au, Ashfield, New South Wales. Illustrates Jesus’ description of himself “I am the Good Shepherd” (from the Gospel of John, chapter 10, verse 11). This version of the image shows the detail of his face. The memorial window is also captioned: “To the Glory of God and in Loving Memory of William Wright. Died 6th November, 1932. Aged 70 Yrs.” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
2 Comments

  1. I am grateful for what I have right now even though it is not much in material goods or money. I am grateful for all my friends, for God allowing each morning one more day to live and enjoy those things that are good in my life such as my grand children, my husband and our dogs who are our children now.

    Like

    1. Someone asked me once if I was always happy or grateful. I think my happiness pissed them off. When I found out years ago, that I had a CHOICE on my attitude, of course I chose an “attitude” of gratitude. I said what fool would choose to be unhappy??
      We are financially worse off than ever. And that is partly why I have to remind myself to look for the solution. And…I have learned that gratitude is my solution again. When I am busy “focusing on what is good” in my life, it helps to remind me of what all I have to be grateful for, and helps keep me out of thinking about “what all is bad” in my life. No, I am not happy all the time, and I am not happy about being unemployed and living in poverty. But…I have a wonderful family an husband…and I know that things could be worse. I don’t have to live under constant fear of bombing and being attacked like Israel and some other people do in other countries that are run by satan and communists.

      Like

Comments are closed.