Keith Urban – But For The Grace Of God

But for the Grace of God

Jump to: navigation, search
“But for the Grace of God”
Single by Keith Urban
from the album Keith Urban
B-side “I Thought You Knew”[1]
Released November 28, 2000
Format CD single
Genre Country
Length 4:30 (album version)
3:40 (radio version)
Label Capitol
Writer(s) Keith Urban, Charlotte Caffey, Jane Wiedlin
Producer Keith Urban, Matt Rollings
Keith Urban singles chronology
Your Everything
(2000)
But for the Grace of God
(2000)
Where the Blacktop Ends
(2001)

“But for the Grace of God” is a song performed and recorded by country music performer Keith Urban. The song was written by Urban, Charlotte Caffey, and Jane Wiedlin.

The third single release from his album Keith Urban, “But for the Grace of God” became Urban’s first No. 1 single on the Billboard magazine Hot Country Singles & Tracks chart on February 24, 2001; the song spent one week at No. 1. The song also includes a video, which has aired on CMT and GAC.

The song ended a two-and-a-half-year streak in which no artist on the Capitol Records label achieved a Number One single on the country charts.

The song was written by: Keith Urban, Charlotte Caffey, and Jane Weidlin. Both Caffey and Weidlin are members of the Go Go’s. This is documented fact. I sat in a conference room at WSIX The Big 98 in Nashville in 2000, while he sang and played every song on the album with explanations on the writers and the song origin.

OMG, I LOVE THIS SONG, AND KEITH IS SO SEXY! THIS SONG REMINDS ME OF HOW BLESSED I AM, AND REMINDS ME TO BE GRATEFUL FOR MY RECOVERY.
Keith Urban showcase - Sydney - First taste (A...
Keith Urban showcase – Sydney – First taste (Album) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)
I am not as young and active as I used to be, so I try to “carry the message” however I am able to. I am grateful that I can help people. That is HOW it works. HOW = Honesty, Open-mindedness, Willingness. Recovery works both ways. Working with others helps keep me out of me, and teaches me to be grateful, and also reminds me that I could be back in the “insanity”, if I ever go back to using. “But For the Grace of God” is one of my favorite slogans of our program. It reminds me to be grateful for my sobriety and to continue to “carry the message” to the still suffering addicts/alcoholics.
