LIFE ISN’T ABOUT WAITING FOR THE STORM TO PASS. IT’S ABOUT LEARNING TO DANCE IN THE RAIN.

Dance Floor
Dance Floor (Photo credit: enric archivell)
English: Barbie Portrait
English: Barbie Portrait (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Dance in the Rain2

As a little girl I loved to play in the rain. I was a free spirit. I loved singing, dancing, writing, and reading. I had a diary for as along as I can remember. Writing always helped me to sort out my feelings and vent my anger. I was a creative child and I used to make my own cards out of colored construction paper and pictures out of magazines. I lived in my dream world and my Barbie doll world. In January, I will be (60) sixty years of age, but I don’t feel that old.

In adulthood, I began to dread the rain, and I thought about how the rain got my clothes wet, or made the road muddy, and I began thinking that rain was a bad thing. 

And…in recovery, I have learned how to dance in the rain. I enjoy the good days, and tolerate the bad days knowing that tomorrow may be better. God has carried me through many losses, the latest of which was my mother dying last year. My mother was my inspiration, she was my idol. All I ever wanted to be was a wife and mother just like her. I am grateful to have had 58 wonderful years with her. She made me the loving, caring, and sensitive person that I am today. I tell people that all of my good qualities I got from her, and the bad ones, I did on my own. 

1 Comment

Comments are closed.