Step 11 Sought Through Prayer and Meditation to Improve Our Conscience Contact With God, As We Understood Him

 

Uploaded on Nov 13, 2009

Prayer of Saint Francis sung by Sarah McLachlan with lyrics and various photos.

The 11Th Step Prayers:

A Prayer On Awakening:

“God please direct my thinking and keep my thoughts divorced from self – pity, dishonest or self-seeking motives.  Please keep my thought life clear from wrong motives and help me employ my mental faculties, that my thought-life might be placed on a higher plane, the plane of inspiration.” (86:2)

A Morning Prayer:

“God, should I find myself agitated, doubtful or indecisive today, please give me inspiration, help me to have an intuitive thought or a decision about this problem I face. Help me not to struggle, instead, help me to relax and take it easy. Help me know what I should do and keep me mindful, that you are running the show.  Free me from my bondage of self. Thy will be done always.” (86:3)

A Morning Prayer:

“God, please show me all through this day, what my next step is to be and please grace me with whatever I need to take care of the problems in my life today. I ask especially that you free me from the bondage of self-will.”(87:1)

An 11Th Step Nightly Review Prayer:

“God, help me to constructively review my day. Where was I resentful, selfish, dishonest or afraid? Do I owe an apology? Have I kept something to myself which should be discussed with another person at once? Was I kind and loving toward all? What could I have done better? Was I thinking of myself most of the time? Or was I thinking of what I could do for others, of what I could pack into the stream of life? Please forgive me for my harms and wrongs today and let me know corrective measures I should be take.” (86:2)

Reflection on prayer: 
* Matt 7:12 ‘So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets’
* Do I allow God to use me as an instrument of His peace?
* Are there classes of people or a particular person for which I need to sow love instead of hatred?
* Do I have someone I need to forgive that I feel has wronged me?
* Am I like St. Thomas, doubting what I believe until I have proof? Or do I have faith to believe although I don’t understand?
* Do I despair over the trials in my life? Or do I focus more on the hope beyond the trials?
* Where there are situations of darkness or sadness do I help to shine Christ‘s light or bring joy?
* Am I more concerned about expressing my troubles to others than helping console someone with theirs?
* When I feel misunderstood, do I try harder to convince someone of my position or do I try to understand their position more?
* Do I seek for love and attention for myself before I give love and attention to others…especially my relatives, spouse, kids and friends?
* Am I more concerned about what I receive than what I give? In having someone tell me they are sorry before I tell them I am?
* Remembering the example of Christ, am I willing to die to myself by allowing God to use me as an instrument of His peace to be born to Eternal Life?

Lord, make me an instrument of your peace;
where there is hatred, let me sow love;
when there is injury, pardon;
where there is doubt, faith;
where there is despair, hope;
where there is darkness, light;
and where there is sadness, joy.
Grant that I may not so much seek
to be consoled as to console;
to be understood, as to understand,
to be loved as to love;
for it is in giving that we receive,
it is in pardoning that we are pardoned,
and it is in dying [to ourselves] that we are born to eternal life.

http://www.ramshornstudio.com/prayer_of_saint_francis.htm

