ONE DAY AT A TIME~My Will or God’s Will?

God gave me the reminder to take my life “One Day at a Time”. With all the craziness of our world and all the problems of life, it is hard to “stay in the now”.

 So, I decided to write about it, and share my experience, strength, and hope.  It has been one of the hardest things for me to learn since my recovery began twenty six years ago. I always lived in “regret” about the past, or “fear” of the future. I never lived in today.  I either allowed others to make my decisions for me, and then blamed them when things went wrong or tried to control others decisions for them. Yes, I started out doing it out of love, but then it became an “obsession”. It was as though if I focused on you, then I did not have to look at me. I have found that I have the choice to be “God-centered”, “Self-centered”, or “Other-centered”. I have lived them all! The only choice that I want today is “God-centered”. This subject kind of ties into the Step 11 post that I wrote.

Oh, by the way everyone has problems. I did not know that. I thought that a lot of other people had life a lot easier than me. Today, I break up my problems into steps. I use the twelve steps to help me find a “solution” to my “problem”. There are some things that I have no control over! We live in a sinful world, that is a Reality! We are in a “Spiritual Warfare” for our lives and our souls. I do believe that there is good and evil in this world, and sometimes bad things happen to good people. Yes, sometimes Reality sucks!

As a little girl, I was a free spirit and yearned for a world where everyone was good, nice, kind, and the world was at peace. There were no wars, or abuse, or the devil in my “dream world”. Everyone loved everyone else. As an adult, I have accepted the fact that I cannot have my way, and that life is not like that.

Today, I live in Reality! I apply the steps to any problem that I have. Step 1: What is the problem? Step 2: What are some solutions? Step 3: What are the consequences of those solutions? Step 4: Which do I choose? Step 5: What if the solution does not solve the problem? Step 6: I can choose to be angry or accept reality, and get on with my life. 

Today, I take life “One Day at a Time”, one problem at  a time, one solution at a time. I choose not to be a “martyr” and allow others to “abuse” me or “use” me, because then I get “resentments” and it messes with my serenity, besides the fact that I do not believe that is God’s will for me. Some things we are “powerless” over, but some things God wants us to do. God works through people, as well as the devil does. 

