What Is A Boundary? As A Child I Was Not Allowed Have My Own Boundaries. As An Adult I Had To Learn How To Set Them And Keep Them.

What Is A Boundary?

As A Child I Was Not Allowed To Have My Own Boundaries.

As An Adult I Had To Learn How To Set Them And Keep Them. I have had to learn that if I don’t set my own boundaries for what is acceptable for myself, then someone else will try to make the boundaries that they want me to have. Ones that will benefit them the most, not ones that are necessarily good for me.

I have learned that it is OK to not be perfect, and make mistakes, because I am human. It is OK to do what is best for me and my serenity and sanity, and not sacrifice my happiness for yours. We each have a bit of good in us, and a bit of bad. Just because I like something that you don’t, does not make me wrong. I am OK being me whatever I choose to be. I don’t have to give up me to be loved by you.  I am responsible for me and my own thoughts and actions, but you are responsible for your own thoughts and actions. And…we each have to decide what is best for ourselves….and not allow others to control us by guilt, fear, or intimidation. MYOB is a good philosophy for me. MYOB = Mind Your Own Business.

BOUNDARY

