Your Needs Are Important Too!

YOUR NEEDS ARE IMPORTANT TOO

I have used this analogy before. I have had to remind myself of the concept many times. If I don’t take care of me, then I have nothing to offer others. If I volunteer myself to be used or abused, then my self esteem must be low.

Healthy people do not have to worry about what to do to keep others from taking advantage of them, they instinctively know what they must do. Healthy people know that they must take care of themselves first, then help others, if they are capable of helping them without causing harm to themselves and family.

The Bible also tells us to take care of our families first, then help others if we are able.

The Serenity Prayer teaches me to accept the things that I cannot change, and to change what I can, and my program helps me to learn the wisdom to know the difference.

The 12 Steps teach me that I am powerless over people, places, and things.  I am only responsible for my own thoughts, feelings, and actions….no one elses. Knowing that helps me to keep my sobriety and serenity.

Recovery and working the steps, have taught me that… I have a choice….and I never have to give up me to be loved by you! God loves me…just as I am…He loves me…and He wants me to take care of me…then if He wants me to help others…He will provide me the means to do it.   

