The Age of Innocence

Texas Tudors' Blog

Sally Ann Frederick, age 6 months, June 1954The picture is adorable. I was a really, sweet, loving, adorable, and kind little girl. I loved everyone, and believed that if everyone would just “be nice” to each other then life would be wonderful. I was an idealist.

But…that was not reality…and everyone was not nice. I was taught that we were all God’s children and we were loved. I thought that the “good guys” always won, and that you should be honest, kind, and loving to everyone.

I loved to read, and I lived through my books. I always had a diary or journal. Writing always gave me a release and helped me to sort my feelings out. 

I loved playing house, dancing, singing, walking barefoot in the cool grass, and climbing trees. Every summer we had a pool in our backyard, and Daddy cooked a lot of barbecue. He made the best chicken with his homemade barbecue sauce, and Mother…

View original post 221 more words

